Let’s Shake it Up!!

Over the years I have seen my breakfast eating habits change quite a bit. There was a time when I ate cereal every day. Honey Bunches of Oats to be exact. Then there were times, especially when I no longer had time to eat breakfast at home that I started to mix it up and eat heavier things like eggs, toast or a bagel, cheese some form of processed meat.

Well in recent times, I have found it easier and also more refreshing to avoid those typical breakfast items and have shakes instead. With the shake it is easy to mix and go. Best of all, I don’t come crashing down from a carb high at 10 am.

I like to call my favourite shake the Breakfast Sunrise and in it I put:

  • 1/2 cup raw oats
  • 1/2 ripe banana (I like to freeze my bananas just for my shakes)
  • 1/8 cup flax chia blend
  • 1 tbs creamy peanut butter (this adds calories and can be interchanged with whey protein powder)
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 1 tbs brewer’s yeast
  • 1/4 cup blueberries (optional)
  • 1 cup of almond milk

I throw all of these ingredients in to my magic bullet cup, blend it and I’m good to go.

Cool and satisfying!
Cool and satisfying!

Great Tips

I personally find that using frozen fruit eliminates the need for me to use ice in my shake. The great thing about shakes is that you can add whatever you want. You can add, other nuts and seeds, fresh fruit, vegetables such as kale and spinach. The options and varieties are endless.

Since using shakes for breakfast, I have found that I am more alert and more satisfied until lunch time. So the next time you are looking for a great meal for on the go, try a shake, there are many options out there.

Leave a comment